Arkansas chicken salad

April 20, 2010 at 5:00 am 7 comments

A picture of the beautiful bath row in downtown Hot Springs National park

So still no new pictures :(   (My husband found the camera but it had been outside through a snow storm so you can do the math on that one…)

But lots of good content up in here anyway. 

So let’s start with the Arkansas chicken salad recipe.  I don’t know if Emerald will remember making this when we lived in Hot Springs, but I sure do.  Let me back peddle a little bit…..

When we lived in Hot Springs we went to a lot of yard sales and also frequented the thrift stores, Arkansas has some awesome thrifting going on.  So on one of our ventures out in search of others people’s junk we found a church cookbook and that church cookbook contained the recipe for chicken salad with shoestring potatoes in it.  That cookbook also contined recipes for coke jello salad, ham jello salad, raisin pie and candy-bar salad.  It was a gem to say the least.

So we made some of the funny but yummy sounding recipes and this one turned out to be a winner with me.  It’s a basic chicken salad recipe with the addition of shoe string potatoes to the top of each serving.  I like it over a bed of salad greens.

Arkansas Chicken Salad

2 chicken breasts, cooked(I used grilled chicken breasts this time and it was super great)

1 carrot, grated

1 stalk celery, diced

1/4 of an onion, diced

1 cup mayo, of course I made my own  :)  (see the archives for recipe)

1 Tbs brown mustard

1 Tbs dill

salt/pepper

salad greens

shoe string potatoes (could use crushed plain potatoe chips I bet)

So presumably you know how to mix up a chicken salad, just stir it all up in a bowl(I think it is better chilled for a little while, but I also just ate a serving of it immediately after making it) and then  serve each serving over a small bed of greens and top with the shoe string potatoes and be ready to feel just a little bit trashy but a lot happy….or as my daughter says “It makes my mouth happy, Mama!”

Updated: You can also add some pickle relish or a little diced pickle up in there, I forgot to say that!

~RUBY

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , .

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake Greetings! And Greeting Cards!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  April 20, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Oh no! on the camera! That must be making you crazy. However, a big yes to the chicken salad recipe. It sounds sounds perfectly Southern (from a woman who stocks Durkee’s Fried Onions at all times), and I definitely have to try it.

    Reply
    • 2. Ruby  |  April 20, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      it really is a little bit trying my patience because I have to replace it and I have now bought three cameras, none of which are up to par and I have my big trip coming up soon.
      Blah.
      Sorry!

      Reply
  • 3. Bellyhoo  |  April 20, 2010 at 11:16 am

    omg, YUM.
    I will try any recipe with the Ruby seal of approval. You’ve never steered me wrong. Thanks. I’ve been seeking food inspiration.

    Reply
    • 4. Ruby  |  April 20, 2010 at 12:25 pm

      Thanks, KEL! Can’t wait to see ya!

      Reply
  • 5. Emerald  |  April 20, 2010 at 11:19 am

    I don’t remember this actual salad, but I DO remember that cookbook, and the raisin pie! This sounds so awesome though, like something we would have made, so I’m sure we did. I will probably have a total flashback when I try it out again.

    AND I love the pic of Bathhouse Row!!! Makes me wanna go back!

    Reply
    • 6. Ruby  |  April 20, 2010 at 12:25 pm

      I know, the pic is so gorgeous, I love HOT SPRINGS!

      Reply
  • 7. Ruby  |  April 20, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I forgot to add that this time I diced up half a dill pickle(for my little picklina) and threw that in and it was really yummy up in there.
    I will update the post, too.
    I’m glad everybody thinks it sounds good, it really is just plain southern goodness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

