Emerald’s Easy Empanadas

May 28, 2010 at 3:09 pm 3 comments

I fell in love with empanadas two years ago in Costa Rica, where I first discovered the fried dough pockets stuffed with cheesy, meaty goodness. But all of the empanadas I’ve come across in Mexico have been fruit-filled pastries more suitable for breakfast or dessert than dinner. Not that there’s anything wrong with a pineapple-cream-filled empanada, but lately I’ve had a hankering for something more savory. Chalk it up to my monthly carbs-n-cheese craving, but I wanted–no, NEEDED it to happen.

When I thought about it, I realized I could probably just use the tortilla recipe and stuff the uncooked tortillas and then fry them instead of baking them on a skillet. Which was correct. For stuffings I used carmelized onion, a little bit of jalapeño sausage, and oaxaca cheese (which is a white Mexican cheese similar to string cheese, sold in a coil, and very creamy when melted). After filling one side of the tortilla, I wetted the edges with a little bit of water, pressed it shut with the tines of a fork, and plopped it into some hot oil and cooked it on both sides until it was golden. Voila! It couldn’t be easier! And the options for stuffing are ENDLESS. I thought pumpkin cream cheese empanadas would also be good, as would mushroom and roasted peppers, or blue cheese and fig preserves or honey. A fried dough pocket, is, in my opinion, a blank canvas upon which any creation is destined to delight. I mean, it’s pretty hard to screw up fried dough….

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

She’s baaaaaaaaaaaack! Hot Chocolate cherry cupcakes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane @ The Borrowed Abode  |  June 2, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Cool! I am totally addicted to empanadas and saltenas. Fortunately I can get them easily in Northern VA since we have such diversity! But sometime I do want to try making them. This will help!

    Reply
  • 2. Emerald  |  June 3, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Jane, they were really easy! A little messy, but totally worth it.

    Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  June 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    I found you through Jane’s blog… those empanadas look to die for. I love empanadas. Your Mexican food recipes seem delicious, and healthier than the typical Mexican fare I get in my neck of the woods!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

