Hot Chocolate cherry cupcakes

June 2, 2010 at 9:15 am 3 comments

I made these for my husbands birthday and since I am not organized enough to start posting about my trip I thought I would post about these.

I wanted to surprise him with something exciting and I had read about something like this awhile back except it was a trifle and I didn’t have a trifle bowl and  a trifle seemed a little to girly for a 33 yo mans birthday anyway so I came up with this on the spot while I was at the store buying the ingredients.

I bought one box milk chocolate cake mix, one bag guittard milk chocolate chips(they are larger than reg. choco chips but smaller than kisses), one can cherry mix filling, one jar milk chocolate ice cream sauce and then whipped cream.

At home I just mixed up the cake mix according to the instructions.  I lined the cupcake pan with liners and then filled the cups 1/3 of the way up with the cake batter then sprinkled in about 5 choco chips and after that I put a spoonful of the cherry filling (about 3 cherries and some of the filling) then I spooned the other little bit of cake batter over the top of the cherry filling and sprinkled a few more chips over it all and baked according to the cakes instructions.

When the cupcakes were done I immediately spooned some of the chocolate sauce over them and added some whipped cream.  I served them hot to acheive sort of a molten chocolate cake effect, but they were equally good the next day when they had cooled off with nothing on them at all.

Hope someone tries em!

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , .

Emerald’s Easy Empanadas Tacos Arracheras

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emerald  |  June 2, 2010 at 10:39 am

    OMG those sound SO GOOD!!!! I don’t have an oven here, or I’d be all over that. Definitely be making them in the next place I live, though.

    And happy birthday, Dennis! I have a postcard for him but haven’t found the PO yet….

    Reply
  • 2. bellyhoo  |  June 2, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Yum. How very Sandra Lee of you! Lol, I’m kidding.
    Happy Birthday Dennis!

    ps- having trouble getting the pictures off of my camera, but I’ll email them when I work out the tech issues.

    Reply
  • 3. Ruby  |  June 2, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    LOL, kelly, it is pretty Sandra Lee! I’m big on cheating in the kitchen…..
    Thanks for the birthday wishes, girls, , Dennis had a good birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

