The 10 flavors my kitchen isn’t complete without

January 27, 2010 at 3:01 pm Leave a comment

This is easy for me, I know the herbs and spices I use the most because I replace them often.  This is just my list, I would love to hear yours 🙂

Cumin           it works for Mexican/Latin American and also Indian and Middle Eastern type dishes

Cilantro        see the above reasons and add Thai to the list

Thyme        This is my go to flavor for poultry and French dishes but also anything Cajun/Creole/New Orleans, with the trinity(Onion, bell pepper, celery) thyme is that classic New Orleans flav-ahhhhh.

Dill                    I just love dill and put it in every bound salad I make as well as lots of salad dressings and then of course German foods and Eastern European foods as well.

Caraway Seeds      I love the sharp flavor of caraway for German foods and then also as a sprinkling on top of homemade crackers or homemade sauerkraut.

Thai Curry Paste         This makes whipping together Thai type curry dishes a snap and who doesn’t love that.

Lime         Limes are imperative to anything Mexican-y, Indian or Thai

Lemon        Lemon is imperative to anything Middle Eastern or French/Mediterranean.

Gomazio       This seasoning option is relativley new to me, it consists of toasted sesame seeds and sea salt, which you could make yourself by toasting the seeds in a cast iron skillet and then adding the same amount of sea salt as there are seeds.  Or you can just buy it at Whole foods ready made, it will be in the asian foods section.

And last but not even close to the least of all:

GARLIC!!!!!   I love garlic SO much, I use excessive amounts in almost every savory dish I make.  If a recipe calls for 1-2 cloves you can count on that I will be using about 6 or maybe even 10.  I even take raw garlic daily.

Some runners up that are nice but not have-to-haves:

wines to cook with

good olive oil

herbes de provence (I do love me some herbes de provence and will use it in place of thyme when I have it)

chili powder

cinnamon

nutmeg

classic curry powder

turmeric

This pretty much makes up my essential spice cabinet.

In the future I will outline some of my favorite food pantry items to keep around.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Spring is in the Air… Spiritually inspired baby names (and that don’t mean Ruth)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


