Chicken ‘n’ dumplings remix

January 28, 2010 at 6:30 pm 2 comments

I have always had chicken and dumplings made with bisquik(SP?) but a couple of months ago Southern Living Magazine (one of my faves!) published a recipe for a “short-cut” version using canned biscuits and I tried it. 

I tried it once doing it like the recipe said and rolling the biscuits flat and then cutting them into pieces but the results were not that hot, at least to our tastes.  But this week my husband made it again and didn’t roll out the dough and instead just cut the biscuits into pieces and dropped them in the boiling stock (which I always make in the crockpot from a whole chicken) and then he turned off the heat and let them steam for about 20mins. 

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!   This was it for me.  I think I will make this recipe for the rest of my life.  It is a classic to me, and like Emily from (Inside A Black Apple) said the other day, I am always looking for the perfect version of classic recipes.  (Check out her blog for that post which contains a chocolate cookie recipe that could be the one!  The link is in my blogroll)

Perfect Classic Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings

special equipment you will need: a crockpot and a heavy pot like a dutch oven

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken, rinsed

one whole onion, peeled and quartered

2 whole carrots, washed and halved

1 celery rib

1 Tbs. dried thyme

water to fill the crockpot

1 can jumbo biscuits

2 carrots, halved and then cut into half moons

1.  Place the chicken in the crockpot with the onion and the first carrots of the recipe and also the celery.  I don’t salt this but I do add a little pepper.  I also add the thyme to the stock at this point.  (I do all of this in the A.M. around 8:30 and cook the whole thing on high for 6 hours, that’s one the options on my crockpot, you could easily do it overnight on low as well.)

2. When the stock is done check the chicken for doneness although it pretty much should be falling off the bone, even if you threw a frozen chicken in there, which I have done many (MANY) times.

3. Remove the bird and take off any of the meat your family would want in the stew.  (We like the white meat and I will then re-use the rest of the bird for another batch of stock, usually immediately after making the first and usually for a much longer time.   For the 2nd stock I add one more carrot, one more onion, one more celery stalk and then also a whole bunch of garlic cloves and then more thyme and cook it on low for probably two 10 hour cycles and then cool it and freeze it for another time.  The reason I cook it so long is so that I can get all the natural joint material to break down and I get a highly nutritious stock 🙂

4.  Place the original stock, after straining it, in a heavy dutch oven or other large pot and chop the meat and throw it in, too.

5.  Add carrots and bring the soup up to a boil.  While you wait for the stock to come up to a boil cut your biscuits each into 6 pieces. 

6. When the stock is boiling toss in the biscuit pieces and stir to incorporate, cover and let cook for one minute then turn off the heat and leave the lid on for about 20 minutes while “dumplings” steam.

7. When the  20mins is up check the stew for salt and serve.  Look forward to several “YUMMMS” and lots of going back for more.  Maybe make a double pot if you have a husband like mine!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Jason Bateman… Who I Would Hypothetically Marry If I Had to Marry a Famous Person

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diane Y  |  February 1, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Great idea. I alwalys used bisquick too and I am going to try this way. Thanks. Also wish I had that list of nightly dinners when I was raising my 5 kids and working full time. Great idea also.

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Thank you, Diane 🙂
    5 kids, that is my dream number of offspring! How was that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


