Weekend update

January 31, 2010 at 12:45 pm Leave a comment

 

Let’s see here…..I wanted to mention that I made the Presidential dinner last night and it was indeed fantastic and totally Presidential.  I used this rye bread that I got at the grocery that was both dill seed and caraway seed and that was nice.  I just bought deli sliced swiss and that tasted good so I will remember that.  I bought the tuna in a can from Whole Foods and it was less fishy than other brands so I will only buy that from now on, I think.

Moving on to cupcakes I made the Vanilla Cupcake recipe from Nigella Lawsom and thought it was about the WORST recipe I have ever made in my life, frosting and all (SORRY NIGELLA!!!!!!!).  I’m wondering if I converted the flour measurements wrongly?  It said 4 OZ. flour, soft butter and sugar and I ooked online for a conversion which told me that would be a 1/2 cup?   Anyway, my husband called them greasy and that would be a good description!    So if anyone has a tried and true vanilla cupcake recipe please pass it on or also tips about the measurement thing or about using Nigella’s recipe…..Thanks!

Lastly, I signed up for swap-bot and am very exicted to see how that turns out!  I love sending things in the mail and also getting things in the mail PLUS surprises and making new friends so it couldn’t be a better mix for me, we’ll see.  I will of course photograph the things I send and recieve and post about the whole thing in more depth as we go along!

Hope your weekend is going GREAT!

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

oh, and check out this neat-o idea… Open Letter to Drew Barrymore, director of Whip It!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


