Ruby’s Chocolate chip cookies

February 1, 2010 at 4:53 pm Leave a comment

I started making these cookies about 4 months ago and I have to say that they are not the traditional Chocolate chip cookie that we all know, but to me they are a little bit better. 

To decide if these cookies might be for you/your family you need to know 2 things:

1.  Is the brown sugar part of the recipe one of the things you LOVE about CCC’s?

2.  Do you prefer a softer cookie or a crisper cookie?

For us, and me in particular, the brown sugar part is something I could take or leave.  If you made me some traditional CCC’s there is no doubt I would love them and gobble them up…..unless they were really crisp in which case I would still probably gobble them up, but I wouldn’t love them as much.

For this recipe that I now make I used the traditional toll house cookie recipe and omitted the brown sugar, just to see what it would be like and I found out I really liked it.  I started out using mini-chips and I still really really love these cookies that way the very best.  But today I made them with milk chocolate chunks and pecan chips and they are very yummy indeed.

I also really cannot reccommend enough that you try and use real vanilla if at all possible because the vanilla flavor kind of makes these cookies shine.

Please let me know what you think about this non-traditional CCC recipe!

Ruby’s Vanilla/Chocolate-chip cookie recipe

1 stick soft butter, I like salted but of course you could use unsalted

3/4 cup white sugar, I have used splenda and that comes out perfect as well

1 1/2 tsp. real vanilla extract

1 egg

1 1/8 cups white flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt, i’d use 1/2 tsp if using unsalted butter, but I like that oh so slight saltiness to play off of the sweetness

1 cup mini chips or any chocolate chips you like

1/2 cup nuts, optional, I love these with just the mini chips, but the nuts are good, too….any kind you like….walnuts and pecans are my fave

So I start with the soft butter and I always zap it in the microwave for like 5 seconds to make sure it is really soft.  Then I add the sugar and cream these to things together really well before adding the egg.  When that is mixed in I add the vanilla.

In a seperate bowl I mix the flour, baking soda and salt and when it is really well combined I slowly incorporate that all into the butter-sugar mixture.

Then dump in the chips and nuts if you are using nuts.  Put the dough in the fridge and turn the oven on to 350.  When the oven is heated take out the dough and roll it into balls about the sie of golf balls.  Remember to leave enough space between the cookies so that they can spread a little.  On a large cookie sheet I do about 12 cookies.  And I always grease the sheet.

Now I watch these cookies because I like them to remain on the softer side.  To acheive that I remove them when they are just getting slightly golden on the edges and have puffed slightly in the middle.  You don’t want to over cook these cookies.  This could take anywhere from 15-25 mins depending on size, so again I just watch them.  I usually just read a magazine in the dining room so that I can pop into to look every few minutes.

Hope you enjoy the cookies and again, I would love to hear about it is you did 🙂

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Happy February (Winter’s Almost Over…) Some good things I cooked/ate this week…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


