2 Mardi Gras inspired recipes 4 y’all

February 15, 2010 at 10:32 am 2 comments

Some short-cut-no-fail Jambalaya

So first things first(I love sayin that!)  These recipes and photos are from the (Saints) Superbowl.  I made them up here in freezing cold Colorado and took them to a predominently Colts-fan filled Superbowl party and even though they didn’t have a clue what a King-cake was or even what Jambalaya was(if you can believe that!!!), they enjoyed the food quite a bit.  So my point is, if you don’t know what these things are you will still probably like these recipes so try them, they are simplified so that anyone anywhere in the country could find the ingredients at their local Walmart 🙂

So I browned the chicken first, it was a 3 pack of boneless breasts that I sprinkled Tony Cachere's seasoned slt and dried thyme onto.

While the chicken browned up nice a golden-y I chopped up 1 onion, 1 green pepper and 3 stalks celery.

 

Then I pricked holes in four Andouille sausages and cooked them first in water then when that evaporated I let them brown up in oil. When they were cooked through I added the onion, celery and bell pepper to the pan drippings from the sausage and let them get all soft and translucent.

In the background of this picture you will see a package of Zatarain's jambalaya mix. I used three boxes and followed the instructions for how to make it subbing 2 cups tomato puree for some of the water. I added more Tony Cachere's and more thyme as well as a few dashes of Hot sauce all to the cooked rice. When the rice was done I added the sliced sausage, the browned chicken and the sauteed veg. and VOILA, easy Jambalaya!

Here is a picture of the Saints-themed King-Cake I made.  I had to make it up all by myself because by this point my computer was already gone!

This is the hubs holding it, very excited and ready to eat already!

I found the black and gold(ok, yellow) sugars at Party City where I also bought a Saints balloon and some Mardi Gras beads.

So the ingredients for the King-cake were:

3 rolls cresent rolls

2 packages cream cheese

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 can cherry pie filling

powdered sugar

one egg mixed with 1/4 cup water

So I heated the oven to 350 and then got out my baking sheet and buttered it.  Cooking spray would be great for this.

Then I unrolled the pastry and very haphazardly layed them all out all over the baking sheet.  The goal was to create an eventual base for the filling and then flap the remaining pastry over the filling and unify the shape of the whole thing into a large O-ring.  A King-cake is basically a danish filled with different things and shaped in a giant O.

So to make the cream cheese filling I put the 2 softened cream cheeses into the food processor and added the egg and egg yolk and pulsed it until it was smooth.  I added powdered sugar until it tasted sweet and lovely and poured it onto the dough in a kind of O-shape(to anticipate how I should fold the pastry over it to cover it and end up with that O shape in the end.)  Then I dolloped the cherry here and there on the cream cheese and flopped the excess pastry over the filling taking some care to press some seams together so that the pastry would like…….yes, you guessed it….AN O!.

So I used the egg-wash and brushed it all over the outside of the pastry and popped it in the oven watching it every 5 mins or so to see how it was going.  After about 20 mins it started to really look good.  I let it get really golden.

While it baked I mixed up some more powdered sugar with some water to form a glaze with which to a-fix the colored sugars.  While the pastry was still kinda warm I poured the glaze on and then immediately sprinkled the sugars in alternating bands.  I wished I would have cut out a fleur-de-lis stencil to try and stencil some on to the cake, but alas I did not and it was still amazing!  It was a sure hit and I will make it again even when I can get a real one back at home.

GEAUX SAINTS!!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Happy Monday! Juice is cool and so are veggies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emerald  |  February 15, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    That king-cake recipe is GENIUS! I’m doin’ it tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  February 15, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Oh, do it, it really is easy and it WORKS and tasted even better than I hoped it would 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


