Yummus Hummus

February 17, 2010 at 2:02 pm 3 comments

Lately, I’m obsessed with hummus. I don’t think my fridge has been without it for at least three weeks. It’s so yummy and good for you and easy to make that I thought I’d share the recipe with everyone, in honor of Ruby, who’s doing a vegan Lent.

Click “more” for the recipe.

You need:

a sack of dried chickpeas (a.k.a. Garbanzo Beans. You can use canned if you’re cool with that, but I think they taste a little funky, personally)

lemon juice

olive oil

salt

tahini (sesame seed paste) (This can be omitted if you’re allergic, and the hummus will still taste fine. It’s a nice touch, though.)

garlic (2-7 cloves depending on how much you flippin’ love garlic)

I never measure any of this, so it’s a taste-and-see thing.

First, sort and rinse the chickpeas and then let them soak overnight. In the morning, pour out the soak water, rinse again, and refill the pot with new water (I like to salt this water generously for flavor). Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover, and simmer for two-ish hours (until chickpeas are soft). Remove from heat and allow to cool.

One bag of chickpeas from th supermarket makes about 3 batches of hummus at my house. I like to parcel the cooked beans out and freeze two of them (with liquid) for future hummus-making.So from now on, I’m just talking about using about 1/3 of the cooked beans….

Drain the beans, but reserve some of the liquid. Put the beans into a food processor with 2 tablespoons of the liquid, about 3-4 tablespoons of the olive oil, the garlic cloves, a dash of salt, about 1 teaspoon of the tahini, and a healthy squirt of the lemon juice. Blend until smooth and creamy looking. You’ll probably have to taste and adjust it to your liking. It’s not very scientific–you can meddle around with it until you get it how you want it. If you need to add more liquid, use olive oil or some of that salty bean-water you set aside.

Drizzle some olive oil over the top and garnish with a black olive or some paprika, or chopped parsely- whatver you got around the kitchen. I serve it with pita breads or veggie sticks!

Enjoy!

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Happy Mardi Gras….and the winner is…. Go check out this blog…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  February 17, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    You know I can’t flippin cook beans from scratch! And I, too, dislike the taste of canned chickpeas….what am I to do?
    And hey, do you know how they make that green chili oil that some places put up on there?
    I really want to make some hummus…..I don’t really like the store bought kind either…..I guess I will friggin try again with the beans…

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  February 18, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    made some hummus from canned beans and it came out pretty dern good. I mean with the lemon and garlic and then the wonderful tahini it already had so much yumminess going on that I couldn’t really taste the canned bean wierdness.
    so.
    that’s good, because I need lotsa vegan yumminess going on right now!

    Reply
  • 3. Judy  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


