Veggie filled couscous salad that I can’t stop eating

February 18, 2010 at 3:24 pm 2 comments

omg, it's so good!

Ok.  So I made this couscous-veggie salad that is so good I have eaten three bowls of it in an hour.

I can list what I put in it and loose amounts, but I don’t really measure when I am making salads so it will be very very loose guessing.

Ingredients for the Veggie-Couscous salad with asian viniagrette

1/4 of a hot-house cucumber, diced

1/3 of a large red bell pepper, diced finely

3 baby bella mushrooms, sliced thinly

1/2 carrot, grated or sliced thinly

one small handful cilantro, chopped

1/4 cup almonds, the slivered kind

1/8 cup sesame seeds

1/8 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 inch ginger, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 bunch asparagus, lightly steamed, still crisp

1 cup couscous

1 cup water

olive oil

chili flakes

black pepper

sesame oil

zest of 1/2 an orange

juice of one orange

seasoned rice vinegar

So I boiled the water and then added the couscous and a dash of olive oil and then moved the pot off the burner and covered tightly for 5 mins.

I combined all of the chopped veg. and the chopped cilantro in a large bowl.

I toasted the sesame seeds and almonds together and then added them to the large bowl with the veg.

Then I made the viniagrette and this is where it gets hard for me.  I know it was the zest of about 1/2 an orange.  I know I lightly squeezed the same orange of it’s juice.  I know I added olive oil and it was about maybe a 1/4 cup.  Then I added several dashes of toasted sesame oil and maybe a 1/8-1/4 cup of the vinegar.  I think I also added some chili flakes and black pepper.  I added the garlic and ginger to the dressing and by this time the couscous was cooked so I combined everything and tasted it for seasoning but it was perfect.  PERFECT.

So then I ate three bowls full.

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Vegan day 2 Hello Friday people!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bellyhoo  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    This looks sooo good. OK- I’ll be an occasional vegan for Lent. By this, I mean less read meat, more veggies. I’ll spare you the talk about “‘what I cooked for dinner” because you’ll be wisty. I’ll tell ya later- its from the Ugliches’ cookbook and it rhymes with ‘dork mop’ and it was deee-vine. Looking forward to more of your vegan adventures.

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  February 19, 2010 at 9:04 am

    You little devil!
    I’m actually doing great so far, definately no meat cravings, the dairy has been harder, but it’s totally fine right now…..on day 3, LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


