NOLA-dreaming

February 22, 2010 at 7:35 pm 3 comments

Guess what? I might be moving back to New Orleans this year! That would mean me and Ruby back in the same town–our town–walking around barefoot with a beers and a wee red-head in a tutu. Although recent disappointments have tauight me not to count my proverbial chickens before they hatch, I can’t help thinking about all the great things I’ll be able to enjoy if I DO get to move home. Here’s a list of what I’ll be looking forward to, in no particular order:

  1. Getting a bike and riding all over the city, like Kate of What I Saw Riding My Bike Around Today.
  2. Donating my time to Friends of New Orleans Cemeteries (they do tomb restoration, but lack a website). I always meant to get involved the FIRST time I lived there.
  3. Buying a couple of kayaks so I can take a paddle with my husband or a friend down the lovely Bayou St. John.
  4. Barefoot-dancing and live music at least once a week.
  5. Wearing face-paint to breakfast.
  6. Mass!!!
  7. Po’ boys!
  8. Beer for breakfast. (I’ve never actually done this. I always say I’m going to, but then it never really sounds good because what I really want in the morning is coffee, and lots of it. But I know there will come a time.)
  9. Starting a new website/blog (I can’t tell y’all the idea or you might jack my idea, yo).
  10. Writing a book about New Orleans.
  11. Did I mention po’ boys?

Well, of course there’s so, so, so much more. That’s just for starters. I mean, I didn’t even mention crawfish boils or Mardi Gras or Jazzfest. So this list is a To Be Continued kind of thing.

♥Emerald

P.S. That’s me up there, hugging that lamp post with–you guessed it–a po’ boy in my hand.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Vegan day 6 Caution: Cuteness OVERLOAD!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Oh-my-god, it’s to exciting to even think about, because if it doesn’t happen AGAIN……ugh, LAME.
    I truely hope that this time it all works out!
    ~Ruby

    Reply
  • 2. Emerald  |  February 24, 2010 at 9:04 am

    I know, I know! It’s hard not to get all wound up with excitement, but I’m trying to just let it ride.

    Reply
  • 3. Amy (Minimally Invasive)  |  March 18, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Just skimming around your blog — which I love — and wanted to congratulate you on your upcoming move. You must be so excited! I dream about moving back someday, but don’t think my yankee husband could tolerate the cultural shift. He loves visiting my family, but keeps notes (no, really) of all the oddball things that happen to us when we’re there. He’s not much of a go-with-the-flow kinda human.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


