Vegan day 6

February 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm 2 comments

Chipotle lentil/chickpea dip with radishes, cucmbers and cherry tomatoes

So I have been experimenting around with the whole vegan thing.  I’m finding that I eat more carbs than I should on vegan so I have to really watch that considering I am on a low-carb diet to lose post pregnancy(2 years post pregnancy, lol!) weight.   It’s hard though when I don’t eat my regular eggs or chunk of cheese for breakfast.  I am trying fruit and nuts today and it was ok, I had blueberries and almonds.

So one switch I made once I realized I was eating to much bread was to start eating my dips with veggies cut up.  I cut up a bunch and put them in bags to make it easier to reach for them in a hurry and I whipped up a new dip too.  Last week I made Emerald’s hummus and it was awesome, this week I made a chipotle lentil/chickpea dip which I do not love as much as the regular hummus.  I thought I would, but I don’t.  I wonder if it’s the lentils.

Anyway, my husband really likes it because it’s spicy.  I will play around with it a bit more and see what other recipes I can find because having a bean/legume based dip to snack on has proved to be imperative for me.

For dinner tonight I have a veggie broth cooking in the crockpot that I will turn into a barley/mushroom soup with leeks.  Should be good.  I will be serving it with some jalapeno garlic bread that has actually been a huge success as far as our palettes are concerned. Recipe as follows, sorry no picture because we inhaled it before I remembered!

Jalapeno garlic bread in the broiler  (will serve 2 generously or 4 reasonably)

1/2 loaf of Ciabatta, cut into thick slices, should make 4 slices

1/4 cup earth balance margarine (or butter if not vegan), softened slightly in the microwave

1 whole jalapeno, cut in half and seeded (if you want spicy then leave some seeds, we were serving it to the kiddo so no seeds for us and it wasn’t spicy at all)

2 large cloves garlic, peeled

So in the food processor I threw the margarine, the garlic, the jalapeno and then I pulsed it until it was all combined and ran it for a few seconds to make a nice paste, but it wasn’t totally smooth.

I preheated the broiler on low and then I smeared the margarine mixture liberally onto the bread slices and layed them on a broiler-proof tray and broiled them until they were golden brown and then flipped them over, drizzled a little bit of olive oil onto them and let them get a little brown o the bottom and they were done.

So delicious and decadent.  I only ate one piece because of the carb issue, but it was a glorious piece, quite the treat!

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

A photo from the past (each month) NOLA-dreaming

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emerald  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    You gotta post that soup recipe- it sounds DEEE-VINE!

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  February 22, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    It was really just ok, it sounded divine to me, too, but it was just not that exciting, even after making my own broth and everything. Blah.
    I will post every single awesome vegan recipe I do make, though.
    ~Ruby

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


