I got a job as a personal chef! No, really!

February 24, 2010 at 12:50 pm 5 comments

one thing I am a pro at is choppin' some stuff up!

Well, chef might be a lofty title, but personal dinner cooker is truely accurate!  It just came out of the blue and I was not actively looking at all.  But as I have said before cooking is something I am passionate about and I have always thought it would be cool to have a job where I cook meals for somebody’s family and then today I got that call.

I go on Saturday to meet the family and find out the details but I am excited and the woman seemed really nice on the phone.

This is great because not only will I be able to make a little side money, but I will have job experience again.  How silly is that?  I have no job experience since Hurrican Katrina!  Yeah.  Try taking that to the local grocery store when you are looking for a little part time job!  Now moving back to NOLa I will have real work experience in the field I have always been in.  Yay!

So that’s my little triumph for the week!  I think wine is in order tonight!

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

My menu for this week (vegan of course) And the winner is…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bellyhoo  |  February 24, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Congrats! Sounds like a perfect job for you.

    Reply
  • 2. Judy  |  February 24, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    How cool is that!!

    Good for you!

    oxo Judy

    Reply
  • 3. Ruby  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks, Ladies! I really am very excited!

    Reply
  • 4. Emerald  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I’m so excited for you! And Chef is definitely not too lofty a term. Anyone who can cook as good as you can call themselves a chef in my book. Especially when they’re getting paid, yo.

    Congrats! That family doesn’t even know how lucky they are– but it won’t be long…

    Reply
  • 5. Arletta B  |  April 7, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    This is the best thing I’ve read I’ve read all day! Good for you Branches & Beads! I hope to have such a “triumph” myself someday! I’ve only been unemployed for 2 yrs – not since Katrina, so I can empathize. It’s a special club we belong to. After reading your blog, I am inspired, because this is something I really want to do, too!
    All the best,
    A

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


