Bath Magic

February 26, 2010 at 7:00 am 3 comments

I love taking baths. I LOVE it. If I had less self-control, I might take two or three baths a day. When I lived in an apartment with a claw-foot tub, I sometimes did.

Usually though, I take showers. Showers are quick and easy, but also a little more labor-intensive, and seldom very relaxing. That’s why, when I have the house to myself like I did last night, I almost always take a bath.

I was a little hesitant though, because I wasn’t really dirty. I’d taken a shower in the morning, but the allure of an uninterrupted hour in the tub with a glass of wine and a book was too tempting to pass up. I was, however, worried about the drying effect so much bathing would have on my skin. I kind-of hate putting on lotion or body oil, and so I hardly ever do it unless I’m feeling really indulgent. Or scaly.

And then I remembered the super-best-most-amazing bath trick that anyone ever told me: add oil to the bathwater. The oil coats your skin thinly and evenly so when you get out, you’re perfectly moisturized. Oddly, this piece of information was gleaned at a recent Superbowl party. From a fifty-something male heterosexual construction worker.

In spite of his six or seven minutes of solid raving about his new favorite way to moisturize after a bath, I’d forgotten the tip. Until tonight. And now I see what the fuss was all about- gender, age, and personality types aside. This bath experience was transcendent. I will never take a bath without oiling the water ever again.

Tonight I used a mix of sweet almond and eucalyptus oils. Then, just for the sheer decadence of it, I de-petaled some of my drooping Valentine’s Day roses into the water. I slathered my face with Queen Helene Mint Julep Facial Mask (still one of the best and least-expensive skin-care products on the market) and slipped into the tub. Add a glass of wine and a book, and … voila! Bath magic. It was like going to a spa. Only without the heavy price tag or the whole getting-naked-in-front-of-strangers thing.

And my skin IS perfectly moisturized. Not  greasy, not itchy and tight. I’m sure it’s an old idea, but I lived almost a third of a century before I encountered it, so I thought I’d share it. If you like to bathe- DO THIS!

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Neo-classic Southern baby names master list Shrimp Pot Pie

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  February 26, 2010 at 9:32 am

    I will try it, but I have a question: Doesn’t that make the tub slippery afterwards? A bath can be relaxing but it would make it a lot less relaxing if I knew I would havr to scrub the tub immediately afterwards…

    Reply
  • 2. Emerald  |  February 26, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Hmm. I don’t know- let me go check…nope. Doesn’t seem especially slippery to me. I only put in about 2 tablespoons of oil. I guess it could build up over time, but I don’t think it would need an immediate scrub-down.

    Reply
  • 3. Ruby  |  February 26, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Sounds good, then. Man, I could use any tips on how not to turn into an actual iguana from living in the driest most hostile environment known to man……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


