Shrimp Pot Pie

March 1, 2010 at 10:13 am 8 comments

I made something this weekend I’d never made before- shrimp pot pie! Of course it didn’t look like a pie, nor was there pot in it, but this is the name of the recipe anyway. I got the basic idea from Real Simple magazine, but altered it considerably because there were too few veggies in it and no garlic. Also, their recipe called for puff pastry, which is cool and all, but too expensive for my tightly-budgeted self right now. But the shrimp were on sale, so the whole meal probably cost me six or seven dollars, which goes to show that being thrifty doesn’t have to taste bad! My husband loved this! It’s a tasty, creamy, home-cookin’-comfort-food kind of dish which made it perfect for a weekend. But it was so easy, it’d make a good weeknight dish, too. We ate it on a picnic blanket in the back yard with beers and salad.

Ever since Mardi Gras, I just can’t stop wanting shrimp! It’s my new obsession. Aren’t shrimp kinda weird? If I think about shrimp too hard, or see pictures of how they look when they’re alive, it creeps me out a little. But they’re so delicious, I get over it pretty quick.

♥Emerald

Click “more” for recipe and directions.

Emerald’s Real Simple Shrimp Pot Pie

1 lb. uncooked shrimp, peeled and cleaned and thawed (if previously frozen-which mine were)

1/2 c. frozen corn, thawed

1 small onion, chopped

2 ribs celery, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

1/2 c. beer or white wine

1 c. milk

2 T. flour

3 T. butter

chopped garlic (I used a lot, of course)

Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning

1 recipe biscuit dough (see below)

1. Heat oven to 400°.

2. In a skillet, heat butter. Add onion, celery and bell pepper and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook one minute. Add the flour and stir in. You know, like you’re makin’ gravy. Add the beer or wine, and stir it up, and then add the milk. Reduce heat and cook until thickened. Add the seasonings and corn. Stir in the shrimp and then pour all of it into a baking dish.

3. Add the biscuit dough by spoonfuls to the top of the shrimp mix. The dough blobs don’t need to be touching, but sorta close together so that as they bake, they will expand to form a layer of biscuity goodness over the top of the shrimp mixture. If you really want to take it to the next level, add little flakes of butter on top of the biscuit dough. I would have done this if I had thought of it then. But I didn’t and it was still good.

4. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the mixture is hot and bubbly at the edges and the biscuit topping is golden.

Biscuit mix:

You could always use canned biscuits or puff pastry to make this super easy, but if you’re on a budget like me then here’s an easy biscuit recipe. (You could also use Bisquick biscuits).

2 c. sifted four

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 c. milk

Sift the dry ingredients together and stir in milk. Add the spoonfuls of this batter to the top of the shrimp mix. If you were going to roll them out and use this recipe for actual biscuits, you’d plop it onto a floured surface and knead for about 30 seconds until smooth. Then roll it out and cut out the biscuits. Place in a baking dish (I like to cram them next to each other in a cake pan, but some people like a baking sheet). Then I put a little piece of butter on top of each one and bake until golden in a 400° oven (about 15-20 minutes).

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Bath Magic 21-day no complaints challenge

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. byrdeyeview  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I received my earrings (which my wife loves and has already wore) and my GREAT greeting cards. Thanks so much!!

    Reply
    • 2. Ruby  |  March 2, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      Oh, that’s great, I’m glad you liked everything! How fun! We will be having another give-away soon!
      ~Ruby

      Reply
  • 3. Tony Chachere's Creole Foods  |  March 2, 2010 at 9:48 am

    What a simple, yet yummy meal! We can’t wait to try this one out in our own kitchens!

    Reply
    • 4. Ruby  |  March 2, 2010 at 1:24 pm

      How cool a comment from Tony Chachere’s!!!

      Reply
  • 5. Emerald  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    @ Mr. Byrd,
    Glad your wife liked the earrings! I wish I could see how they looked on her!

    @Tony Chachere’s
    Oh, please do! I’d be so honored! Let us know what you think. I also used Tony Chachere’s frozen shrimp in the pot pie, btw!

    Reply
  • 6. Ruby  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Tony Chachere’s has frozen shrimps? Are they pre-seasoned?

    Reply
    • 7. Emerald  |  March 3, 2010 at 4:13 pm

      Yeah, they do. And no, they’re not seasoned. The ones I got were uncooked, just peeled and de-veined (all the hard work already done)!

      Reply
  • 8. Ruby  |  March 4, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Hmmm, I need to find me some good quality frozen shrimps for after Lent…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


