Delurk and vote, yes this means you! And TWO giveaways…

March 4, 2010 at 10:08 am 17 comments

HELLO!

So, where to start….let’s see.  Ok.

First I want to explain that voting in the cafe-name-vote gets you entered into the VINTAGE ITEM GIVEAWAY.  Emerald and I are both moving soon and needing to get rid of a lot of cool stuff in the process.  We both love awesome vintage stuff and are going to send the lucky winner one or two items from each of our houses!  How exciting?!  But you can’t play unless you vote on the following….just read the rest of the post, vote and you will be entered into the Vintage item giveaway, okeedoke?  I would even give the winner a chance to dictate the type of item they recieve, atleast from myself….there is some wiggle room on this for sure.

So, I am slightly names obsessed.  It is my hobby, I might be the only person who would even consider this a hobby, but I really do.  I like to find the perfect name for everything, a new pet will inspire lists and internet searches.  I am always going around town, eyes on the look out for a name, ears perked for the sound of something I may never have heard before.  Like last night, I heard the name Siobhan on American Idol, pronounced “Shabawn.” 

So in my head I have been trying to formulate what a cafe would be like that I would like to have in the future.  A place where you can go and always know everything is organic, biodynamic or local.  Always.  A place where you can get fun exciting vegetarian food, vegan food and also traditional foods and then baked goods…some even traditionally prepared like where you soak the grains and stuff.  A place where any animal products are sourced from friendly, safe, wholesome sources that respect the animals.

So in my little world having a name to attach to this place would be great but I have lots of ideas and little direction.  The name could even change in the future, but right now I need one that I really like, that really inspires me.

These are my ideas and I would like for anyone who has read this to vote, I would like you to pick the name that most seems like a place you would want to hang out, a name you would want to say in a sentence that goes like this, “Hey Marie, let’s go get muffins and sun-tea from_____!” 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~Cherry~

~Fig~

~FigLeaf~

~Vert~

~olive~

~French~

~Dearie Cafe~

~Doves and Dearie~   (This was one idea for our blog’s name that I still like)

~Dewdrop~ 

And then on to the other giveaway.  The other giveaway will be in honor of St. Patty’s day and it will be all green stuff that Emerald and I have made and collected for the occassion.  For that I will be posting a green themed photo in the future, you will need to comment on that post to be entered…..hope you were reading!!!

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Cow Cuteness of the Week Name Ruby’s Bywater Cafe and Win Cool Vintage Stuff From Our Houses!

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emerald  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:33 am

    First: that picture of Mims is ADORABLE!

    Second: I will post pictures of stuff from my house for the “Stuff From My House Giveaway” this afternoon.

    Reply
  • 2. Bellyhoo  |  March 4, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I love Mimi’s little haicut!

    Ok. I have to tell you something first.. A dear friend of mine spent last year in the hopes of opening a bakery with her sister called “Dearies” — its their last name (I KNOW- i’m a little jealous of that sweet last name). They had trouble finding a place with the right amount of rent (but IMO they were looking in pricy areas). Anyways one of them moved to New York- so I guess the whole plan is out.

    Anyways my vote is “Doves and Dearie” or maybe “Doves and Dears” – maybe its against the rules, but just a suggestion.

    I also like “Olive” because it sounds like “I love”. You could put signs that say “Olive You”. That would be cute.

    Crossing my fingers. I am wanting stuff.

    Reply
  • 3. Ruby  |  March 4, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    K~Olive You would be SUPER CUTE! And it is not against the rules to make suggestions! Really cute good idea, Kel.

    Emerald~ I think posting pics of stuff is a great idea, I was rounding mine up this morning!

    Reply
  • 4. Judy  |  March 5, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Dove and Dearie sounds affectionate. I can imagine going there for comfort food and tea. (Muffins surely are comfort food.)

    oxo

    Reply
    • 5. Ruby  |  March 5, 2010 at 10:44 am

      You’re right, JUdy, it really does sound….dear and comforting. I’m glad you’re playing along!

      Reply
  • […] you have to do is vote on a name for Ruby’s future Bywater cafe. (See previous post for the list of names and  description of the cuisine/vibe). Ruby will pick the winner, and that […]

    Reply
  • 7. leah  |  March 5, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    i am going to vote for “fig.” i just looked up fig on wiki and i learned that it was one of the first cultivated crops. this somehow seems appropriate for a cafe that will be serving whole and healthy foods. figs have a rich history and besides, the colors are incredible!

    oh yeah and do you think you could open this cafe in my neighborhood? please!

    Reply
    • 8. Ruby  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:01 pm

      I wish I had one here in my neighborhood in ColoSpgs, lol. I’m kinda surprised we don’t have anything like that at all….

      Reply
  • 9. Holly  |  March 5, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    I like Fig Leaf. It just has a nice ring to it, it flows well.

    Reply
  • 10. Ruby  |  March 6, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Yeah, I picked Fig and FigLeaf because they remind me of New Orleans. I used to live around the corner from a fig tree that I could just pick from and it was amazing to have this delicious fresh fruit for free!

    Reply
  • 11. Ruby  |  March 6, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    I also forgot to add Clementine to the list…..oops.

    Reply
    • 12. Borrowed Abode  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:02 pm

      Clementine!

      Reply
  • 13. Bellyhoo  |  March 7, 2010 at 11:57 am

    You could get naughty with “Fig Leaf”. Have lots of nudies. classy nudies, of course- with the parts covered with, you know, fig leaves.

    Reply
  • 14. Ruby  |  March 7, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    You know I love me some nudies! And Dennis would love to paint figleaves on old Play-boy pin-up girls privates……LOVE.

    Reply
  • 15. urban craft  |  March 10, 2010 at 10:55 am

    I vote Fig
    Just fig.

    Rolls off the tongue nicely and is very memorable for people and kids too.

    Reply
    • 16. Ruby  |  March 10, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      Oh, Hi! I’m glad you came over! Thanks for playing along!

      Reply
    • 17. Ruby  |  March 10, 2010 at 3:02 pm

      Hi! I’m glad you came over to play!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


