Roasted Garlic – Like Pavarotti is Singing in Your Mouth

March 12, 2010 at 10:23 am 6 comments

Yesterday afternoon I called Ruby to chitchat, and we wound up talking about pie and roasted garlic. She’d never made a pie crust from scratch and I had never roasted garlic, in spite of the fact that garlic is one of my all-time-super-most-favorite foods. So Ruby told me how to do it, and man-oh-man, I cannot believe I LIVED THIS LONG WITHOUT ROASTING ME SOME GARLIC!! It was amazing. Like eating an aria. If the flavor was a song, it would have been Ave Maria.

It was so easy- just lop off the top part of a garlic head, drizzle with oil, and sprinkle with salt. Wrap in foil and roast at 400° for about an hour. I did one with sea salt, and one with Tony Chachere’s, just for fun.

Ruby’s advice was to “nest” the garlic in the foil instead of wrapping it completely. She said if you completely cover it, the garlic steams instead of roasts, and doesn’t caramelize. So that’s what I did. My house smelled like heaven.

After I took the garlic out and let it cool, I squished both heads it into a little bowl (which was curiously satisfying) and added about 3/4 stick of butter. Using a spoon, I mashed the garlic and butter together into a paste. I spread the butter-garlic paste onto a pizza dough in lieu of tomato sauce, and added cheese and veggies. Then, I paced around the kitchen like a rabid animal while it baked.

Then I took it out of the oven. And ate some. And almost died. It was that good. (Thanks, Roob).

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Inspired by Soulemama’s {this moment} posts and other friday stuff P.S. I quit vegan Lent…..or….another one bites the dust.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Ooooh, I am making that this weekend, girl!

    Reply
  • 2. justalittlepiece  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Also great: melted brie cheese, roasted garlic on a baguette…just don’t want to be kissing people!

    Reply
    • 3. Ruby  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:38 am

      Hi to you, just a little piece, I just checked out your blog and saw all that ice cream going on over there….I am going to have to bust out the ice cream maker…….that means trouble!

      Reply
  • 4. Ruby  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:44 am

    http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/03/breakfast-pizza/#comment-356173

    I am making a hybrid of this pizza and your pizza. I will probably die when I eat it.

    P.S. I guess I should out myself on the blog about quitting vegan lent.

    Reply
  • 5. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  March 16, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Kiss only people who are also eating this. It’s a rule in our house.

    Ruby, I love everything I’ve seen, and that little redhead is just yummy.

    Reply
  • 6. Judy  |  March 18, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Yum…I love roasted garlic and Pavarotti.

    I went to see him in concert before he passed away. What a thrill!

    When I eat roasted garlic your comparison will always come to mind.
    Such fun!

    oxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


