in food news…

March 15, 2010 at 4:57 pm 6 comments

the amazing pie that my husband made pretty much all by himself!

This pie was all his idea.  He came up with the idea when I told him  I needed to go to the store to buy tampons.  He pretty much always takes advantage of “that time of the month” to exploit my sugar cravings and make elaborate desserts…or convince me to make them!

It was totally easier to make a pie dough than I had ever thought.  All I had ever heard was how hard it was.  It actually was the opposite and very satisfying to eat in the end when it tasted FRIGGIN amazing.  I mean.  A.maz(e).ing.

Here is the recipe he used for the crust that I had found on allrecipes:

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Butter-Flaky-Pie-Crust/Detail.aspx

PLEASE TRY THIS RECIPE!   If you have never made a pie crust then you are in for a treat.  It was totally flakey, totally buttery and melt in your mouth fab-u-lous.  I can’t say enough about this recipe.  Just keep the dough in the freezer until you use it and we used frozen butter and a food processor.  (Ask in the comments if you need any help!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I guess you can't really get a pretty picture of guacamole?

So I have this little bible-study cocktail party tomorrow night, right?  And being the slightly(lol) food obsessed person that I am deciding what to make has been an event.  (I’m laughing as I’m writing this because it’s so absurdly true.) 

Last night I looked at allrecipes.com which is my go-to recipe exchanging website and found a few that looked good to me.  One of them I had the ingredients for in abundance and so today I tried it because I can’t very well make something to bring to a party that I have never tried, can I?

It was the mango-guacamole, recipe here:

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mango-Guacamole/Detail.aspx

I didn’t really follow the recipe because I don’t usually puree my guacamole and I didn’t have cilantro (even though I LOVE it and usually would def. add it to my guacamole).  I just mashed up one avocado, 1/4 of a jalapeno, 1/2 a lime and 1/2 a mango~diced finely and stirred it up with a dash of salt.

O.M.G. 

SO RIGHT.

So here are three questions for ya.  What would you make for a cocktail party pot-luck whose theme is finger food?  What is your guacamole recipe?  What is the awesomest thing you have eaten recently and can I have the recipe?!

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

P.S. I quit vegan Lent…..or….another one bites the dust. Spring is finally here, too, yay!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bellyhoo  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    My go-to for potlucks (or bible/cocktail parties)
    I always make artichoke bread
    (a new orleans family secret–shhhhh…)
    its easy, good, and kind of seems fancy- if its that kind of party..

    You need:

    can of artichokes chopped up.
    chopped garlic
    salt/pepp
    parmegean cheese (a couple handfuls or so)
    chopped parsley
    green onions chopped up.

    combine the above and
    add olive oil till it looks kind of sexy.

    Also..
    one egg
    frozen bread- there is a brand they sell in the freezer, comes in three loaves, named after a guy “Bobby’s?” “Brian’s?” and you need one loaf. Anyways its pretty cheap and versatile.
    (you can also make (sorry R) crawfish bread w/ it!)

    Defrost the bread and when the dough is gooey you split it in two and roll them out. stuff it with a line of the yummy artichoke mix. Pinch each loaf closed. They will look like raw baguettes.

    Brush each loaf with an egg wash (one egg beaten) and bake till their golden. (20-30 minutes or so??) maybe longer, can’t remember. Outside golden and crusty- inside gooey cheezy and smells di-vine!

    You slice it up in slivers and everyone is always impressed.

    I’m ready for a party now..

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  March 17, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Can I write a whole post about this?!

    Reply
  • 3. Amy (Minimally Invasive)  |  March 18, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    1. I don’t know if it’s properly finger food, but I can eat a whole jar of ’em, so I’m throwing it out there – mirliton pickles! My cousin makes The Best I’ve ever had, but hasn’t parted with his recipe yet, so I’m going to give John Folse’s recipe a go. It features Zatarain’s crab boil, so it can’t be half bad.
    http://www.jfolse.com/recipes/appetizers/vegetable16.htm

    2. Ooh, I know this one! If you’re looking for something a little different in the guacamole arena, you should absolutely try this. It features grapes and pomegranate seeds in addition to the usual guac ingredients.
    http://chimeraobscura.com/mi/08-advent-calendar-day-7/

    3. Pasta e ceci, which we’ve been eating almost weekly this winter. I think it’ll be just as delicious once warmer weather rolls around.
    http://racheleats.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/pasta-ceci/

    Reply
    • 4. Ruby  |  March 21, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      Hi Amy 🙂
      Those mirliton pickles are definately not something I can make here in Colorado, but I will be saving that recipe for when I get home. I like pickled things SO much!
      I will be trying that recipe for the guac, too. I love me some pomegranates and my little one really really likes grapes and guac so that will most likely go over well with her.
      As far as the pasta, have you used canned beans? BEcause I am cooking-beans-from-scratch-challenged…..
      I’m glad you stopped by!

      Reply
  • 5. Bellyhoo  |  March 18, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Yes. That was a really big comment…

    Reply
  • 6. Ruby  |  March 19, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Oh, I’m so excited, I’m making this this weekend then posting about it next week…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


