Sinkful of Smiles

March 17, 2010 at 3:30 pm 4 comments

I do not have an automatic dishwasher, which means my husband and I spend an inordinate amount of time standing at the sink, cleaning our dishes by hand. For that reason, I like to buy nice-smelling, good quality dish soap to make the experience as painless as possible. Last week I picked up a bottle of J.R. Watkins Natural Home Care Lavender dish soap, and I couldn’t be more thrilled! The first thing that attracted me to the product was the packaging. I love the old-timey, apothecary look of the bottle and the label. My husband says that the looks of it reminds him of a bottle of gin, which would be a funny way to disinfect your dirty utensils, but probably not as effective, or as nice-smelling. The smell is heavenly – like indulging in aromatherapy while you chip scorched rice out of the bottom of your favorite pan. (I burn a lot of rice). The formula is nice and sudsy, and doesn’t leave my hands feeling chapped afterward, either. Of course it’s a bit pricier than the brands I normally buy, but I figure what the hell. Anyone who’s doing my dishes (including me) is worth it, right?

Now I need to find a really good brand of detergent. Maybe something nice-smelling that’s still okay for sensitive skin. Anyone got a suggestion?

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Lifestyle. Tags: , , , .

Spring is finally here, too, yay! These little moments…..(I couldn’t pick just one!)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny B.  |  March 17, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Lavender-scented anything is good. It’s supposed to be relaxing, so is probably a good fragrance for dish soap. Too many dishes = stress. I have a friend who has been putting a little lavender oil under her toddler’s nose at nap time to help her sleep. She says it really works!

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  March 17, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Man, I am gonna try that trick with my toddler.

    And I am waiting to hear if anyone has any laundry soap suggestions. I bought Tide this time to see if that would make my clothes smell super great, but no.

    What do people use?

    Reply
  • 3. Judy  |  March 18, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Mmmm, lavender is one of my favorite scents. I’ve not heard of the dish soap. Did it come from a natural food store?

    I make my own soap for washing clothes and use lavender essential oil to scent it. It’s leaves my clothes so fresh smelling…I’m not into detergents with heavy scents.

    My goodies arrived while I was out of town. I had my daughter open the packages and tell me who they were from…I was lucky to get to keep them, because she loved them all. Her favorite color is green and after opening my giveaway prizes she told me…”you didn’t get any mail, Mom.”

    Thank you, ladies. I will wear the necklaces and earrings with pride. I look forward to trying the cookie recipe. It sounds yummy…though I’m not supposed to eat such morsels. Surely one won’t hurt.

    If you enjoy drinking hot tea be sure you don’t miss your chance to win my blog giveaway. There’s a button on the sidebar.

    oxo Judy

    Reply
    • 4. Ruby  |  March 18, 2010 at 4:14 pm

      Oh, I can soeak for the both of us in that we are so glad you liked everything!
      I’m glad all of the jewelry will work for you and I headed right over to your site to play in the tea giveaway!
      Thanks Judy 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


