Spring-themed Jewels

March 24, 2010 at 7:00 am 5 comments

Last night I made these new necklaces, inspired by spring! The dangly bit on this first one is a link from a vintage bracelet I purchased at a thrift store. The links are silver with small dried flowers inside of some kind of epoxy. I took one of the links out because it was too big for my wrist and too small for my ankle. Since it was also too cute to waste, I incorporated it into a necklace. This one I made to go with the new green sarong my mom gave me this winter. She found it at a thrift store (it runs in the family) and I’ve been waiting anxiously through the cold weather for sunshiney opportunities to wear it.This one is kind-of Asian-looking. The little dangly bit on this one (I was all about the little dangly bits last night) is a recycled part of a broken earring. So it’s “green” literally and figuratively!

Maybe it’s just Spring, but ever since St. Patrick’s Day, I’ve been kinda obsessed with the color green. Everything around here is starting to bud and the grass and trees are almost fluorescent. How about where you live? What colors are inspiring you right now?

Entry filed under: Crafts and Projects. Tags: , , , , , .

For further gardening inspiration: Peep-cupcakes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:08 am

    I wish I could see them in person!
    I also like the fabric you laid them on to photograph them.
    Is this practice for your stint as bohemian-jewelry-on-the-beach-girl?

    Reply
  • 2. Borrowed Abode  |  March 25, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I’ve been obsessed with yellow and chartreuse for just about a year now. Not sure why. . .but it sure cheers me up!

    PS – got my package, thanks a bunch! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Emerald  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:38 am

    That fabric is (I think) a bedsheet that someone turned into a curtain panel. I got it at the thrift store and use it as a tablecloth. If either one of you wants it, let me know- you can have it!

    Reply
    • 4. Ruby  |  March 26, 2010 at 7:43 am

      Gril, you know I’m gettin rid of stuff, not vice-versa! (but thank you 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Emerald  |  March 26, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Ha ha! That’s what I thought!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


