A-Rakin’ and A-Hoein’

March 30, 2010 at 10:23 am 5 comments

I’m a little late in posting today because I’ve spent most of the morning doing this. I know, I know. Doesn’t look like much yet.

For the past few years, my mom and I have done a garden together because we live next door to each other. A garden of this size is a lot of work for one person, and we both enjoy gardening so it’s fun to have someone to talk to while you’re pulling weeds and picking beans.  This morning we took advantage of the breeze and cool temperatures to rake the rocks out, pull the weeds that the tiller missed, and spread the compost.We hope to get the seeds and seedlings in the ground before Friday, when it’s forecasted to rain.

There’s just something about gardening that zens me out. Being outside the the fresh air and sunshine, nourishing the soil and watching wee sprouts push through the surface and mature into food-producing plants seems somehow essential to me. Plus, I like knowing what the ground has been treated with (compost) and what hasn’t been sprayed all over my food (poison). Even though I’m going to be in Mexico for two and a half months starting in May, and will miss out on much of the bounty, it’s still rewarding just to be outside, planting things. I love it!

How about you? Have you started your gardens yet? What are you growing this year?

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Lifestyle. Tags: , , , , , .

Spring-time kick in the pants Yeah, BABY!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  March 30, 2010 at 10:55 am

    We started the container gardening finally, and I’ll be sharing that tomorrow on Rehab. With the children on Spring Break, I’m going to have them prep the raised beds to start the veggies next weekend.

    You did a great job clearing all of that! I love visiting over here; you and Ruby never fail to make me smile.

    Reply
    • 2. Ruby  |  March 30, 2010 at 2:02 pm

      Awww, that is so nice, that makes my day!

      Reply
  • 3. Emerald  |  March 30, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Thanks Sunny! Can’t wait to see pictures of your gardening ventures!

    Reply
  • 4. terriaw  |  March 30, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    What a beautiful plot for a garden! Luckily you share the space so your mom can enjoy the bounty while you’re gone. I agree with you about the feeling when you’re gardening, you just lose yourself in the fresh air and working in the dirt. We tore down an old playsystem, and use the former sandbox for our raised garden. I usually plant salsa ingredients, but haven’t decided yet what to plant this year.

    Reply
  • 5. Emerald  |  March 31, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Ooooh, salsa ingredients. That’s a good idea….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


