I lost my camera

April 6, 2010 at 5:28 am 3 comments

But I still want to post about some lovely things so today we put on our imagination caps and try to visualize how wonderful these things are or better yet make and do them ourselves 🙂

First up is a salad that I made last week and actually was the salad that clued me in that I might have lost my camera.  I went to find it to photograph the salad because it was amazing and I couldn’t find the camera anywhere…

Anyway.  On to the salad.  Mango, blackberry, avocado, hearts of palm, hazelnuts, green onion and cilantro over arugula with mango salsa viniagrette by this brand:

I had always wanted to try this brand of salad dressings.  It’s in the refrigerated section of Whole Foods and there are lots of varieties.  I’m so glad I bought this one because it was so good.  It actually inspired the other ingredients, well that and looking through my fridge and pantry 🙂  Anyway, try it, I bet you will love it.  And of course you could make your own mango salsa viniagrette if you are so inclined.

On to seven layer pea salad.  Have you ever had this?  It is a layers of lettuce, hard boiled eggs,  peas, cheese, bacon a cup of mayo(with a TBS of sugar stirred in) and green onions.  For something so easy it is SO delicious and also low carb, although I’m sure unintentionally.

Here is the recipe I used:

http://southernfood.about.com/od/vegetablesalads/r/bl30608c.htm

And last but not least, try this cookie recipe for Chocolate White Chocolate chip cookies and add pecans.  You might wonder why regular chocolate chip cookies are so popular when you can make these!

http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/detail.aspx?ID=18479

I rolled them into fat balls after refrigerating the dough and that produced moist delicious cookies so I think that might be key to recipe (my husband on the other hand just plunked them onto the tray and they were a little crumbly but of course still tasty.)

So, thank you for bearing with me if you got this far and try these recipes, they really are all lovely, and if you do let us know!

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , .

Monday (Wash Day) Supper Embracing My Inner Eastern Princess

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. terriaw  |  April 6, 2010 at 6:31 am

    I am going to save this post because those recipes sound delicious! I like seven layer salad, but have never made it and haven’t had it in years. The dressing sounds amazing! Cookies are always winners in our house. Hope you find your camera!

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  April 6, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Thanks Terri 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Emerald  |  April 6, 2010 at 11:23 am

    I’m so bummed about your camera! I hope you find it soon! Especially for your trip home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


