A picture from the past…..pt. 3

April 9, 2010 at 5:24 pm 9 comments

Emerald and Ruby, hammin' it up....I mean glammin' it up!

I remember this day vividly.  Emerald was dating this guy whom she had met at our first little gallery show in Hot Springs, Arkansas.  I remember when she met him, Paul Vachier.  She really liked him at the time and they did end up dating and it was semi-serious for awhile.

Anywhoooo.  He mentioned wanting to take some photos of us along with doing shoots with other Hot Springs “characters” while he was in town(you see as a professional photographer he travels a lot, don’t ya’ know) and we jumped on the chance, who wouldn’t, right?

When he came to our house on the hill he set up professional lights (one of the reasons we look so youthful and dewy, lol) and we spent that time drinking whiskey while Emerald painted designs on our faces.  We had laid out some exciting outfits to wear for the shoot and had cleared our 60’s Mod dining room out just for the occassion.

I would say that this photo really incapsulates that time in our lives, if one photo can do such a thing.   It was a time when we soaked in as much glamour as we could inject into our daily lives.    We were just coming off of the Hurricane experience and to escape processing our feelings we escaped into a fantasy of exclusive parties hobnobbing with the likes of one Madame Faberge(yes, of Faberge egg fame, yes,  in Arkansas) of art galleries and fabulous artists (yes, in Arkansas) of glamourous nights spent at old historic hotels dancing with old men to Moon River and Unforgettable (yes, in Arkansas) and lots and lots of whiskey.

Was it decadent and over the top?  Yes, it was.  Was it indulgent and a little bit ridiculous?  Yes.  Were we glad to have something so wonderful to take our attention?  Ever so, darling, ever so.

I am so glad that we have these pictures.  These pictures, to me, will be those fun keepsakes that I pull out on my front porch swing one hot August afternoon, with my sweet little granddaughter, Ruby-Lou, tucked in next to me, a sweating-ly cold glass of mint tea sqeezed between her skinny little legs as we peruse these tangible reminders that I was young once, I was wild and silly and glamorous (like a proper southern Granny should have and would have been in her youth) and she will know me just a little bit better…

So what are some of your silly/exciting/wild/glamorous memories from your younger days, the things you would want your hypothetical or real grandchildren to know about you that might give them a little better understanding of who you were before they were ever even a sparkle in their own parents eyes?  We would love to hear some of your own memories….

~Love~

RUBY

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Moving Out Poem Make your skin happy

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bellyhoo  |  April 9, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Great post Rubywoo.
    Personally, I hope to continue to be wild and silly and glamorous 4-ever and ever. In fact, I may have to turn it up a bit to make up for my lack of hotness. My little one’s will be all, “no..granma..please..not the purple turban/sequin zebra print kaftan”. It’s a good thing I’m never leaving New Orleans. But yes, I will keep the old pictures around to remind them of my former hotness.

    Reply
    • 2. Bellyhoo  |  April 10, 2010 at 12:19 pm

      Perhaps I should not post comments during cocktail hour..

      This is a really sweet post R.

      Reply
  • 3. Ruby  |  April 10, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Ooooh, I hope you do wear a purple sparkly turban and zebra print kaftan….
    Kaftans will be the jam…..
    And thanks, Kel 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Emerald  |  April 10, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    @Bellyhoo: The purple turban is a MUST, no matter WHO objects. In fact, that whole outfit sounds like a nod to your ethnic heritage (if your ethnicity is “New Orleanian”). It’s not tacky, mama, it’s CULTURE.

    And, Ruby, I LOVE that you put this pic up, and your description about the time it was taken. I remember the whole photo shoot took hours and we just kept on drinking whiskey. Pretty much our whole time in Arkansas was an extended game of “Dress-Up”. Also, it’s partly the lights, but I think we were (I mean, ARE) just naturally youthful and dewy!!!

    I found a fun picture of us from the newspaper – I’ll scan it in and put it up for our next Blast From the Past picture.

    Reply
  • 5. Ruby  |  April 11, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Oh, I still have some of our newspaper clippins, I can’t wait to see which one you mean.

    Reply
  • 6. byrdeyeview  |  April 12, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Very pretty 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Emerald  |  April 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Thanks! I think we totally look like sisters in that picture!

    Reply
  • 8. Ruby  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:33 am

    somehow our hair was the same color…

    Reply
  • 9. urban craft  |  April 16, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    you guys are beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


