Moving Out Poem

April 9, 2010 at 8:55 am 7 comments

Here’s a little poem I wrote in my head while laying in bed this morning. I’m moving out of the house where I’ve been living, so it’s very chaotic. But also, it’s my (deceased) grandparents’ house, and a lot of their stuff is still in it. So I’m helping my family clean all that out too, and it’s strange, the things we’ve found. I didn’t know my grandparents very well- they were stoic, rather private people–at least by the time I came on the scene, anyway. Some of the stuff I’ve found reveals them to be sentimental, ambitious, wanna-be hosts, and complete strangers.

Left Behind

Photographs,

Box of rocks,

Yellowed letters,

Keyless locks.

Old LPs,

Sewing chair,

Silver hairbrush

with strands of hair.

Knitting needles,

Curtain hooks,

Stacks of Spanish

language books.

Cowboy hats,

Cowboy boots,

Suede high heels,

Denim suits.

Champagne bucket,

Antique gout stool,

Model airplanes,

Rusty tools.

Camping lantern,

Garden trowel,

Old meat grinder,

Faded towels.

One orange drape,

Greeting cards,

Wildflowers

in the yard.

For years they’ve bloomed,

For years, the same;

and only these

shall remain.

edw Apr. 09, 2010

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Books, Reading, Writing. Tags: , , , , , , .

Watch this: Jamie Oliver at TED A picture from the past…..pt. 3

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heartigan  |  April 9, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Nice poem. It has a very sentimental feeling about it.
    Moving away is always kinda sad despite everything good that can come with it.

    Reply
  • 2. Emerald  |  April 9, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Yeah, I’m actually excited about moving, but this is one of the strangest moves I’ve ever made, because I’m moving my grandparent’s stuff out too. I’ve been living with all this stuff for three years, but much of it I never laid eyes on, since it was secreted away into the dark corners of cabinets, and cobwebby crannies.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply
    • 3. Ruby  |  April 9, 2010 at 9:27 am

      That is a very sweet poem, Merle, hope you get a lot done this weekend with the sale!

      Reply
  • 4. Phyllis  |  April 9, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    It is so great that you have captured all of these items in your poem. I imagine how they got them and how it is that they have kept them. Very neat!
    -Phyllis

    Reply
  • 5. terriaw  |  April 9, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    What a bittersweet moment that must have been for you! Your poem touched my heart, while remembering my own grandparents in similar ways. I love how you ended it. Good luck with all the packing and moving efforts!

    Reply
  • 6. Emerald  |  April 9, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks everyone! As I write this, I am covered in dust, have some bodacious B.O., and am drinking a beer. But some early birds stopped by and I already made thirty dollars, so that’s a good sign, right?

    Signs….yeah. I need to go make those.

    Reply
  • 7. Daniels total car care  |  December 10, 2013 at 1:15 am

    The BLS reports thаt employment of autο body repairers is еxpected
    to grow as fast as other occuрations through the year 2014.
    What all iѕ included under routine ѵehicle maintenance.

    You might ask how repair shops view these pro-active measures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


