Make your skin happy

April 12, 2010 at 5:28 am 3 comments

Hello, hello and happy Monday, all 🙂

I wanted to talk  today about something I have been making for many years now, since I was a teen, actually.  It’s sugar/salt scrub.

I know this probably isn’t a revelation, but we can all use a reminder now and then of those simple things that we probably already know about, but forgot about.

That was the case for me. 

Recently with my tax return money I was going to buy myself some sugar scrub because while I remembered how much I enjoyed using it I didn’t remember how easy it was to make, but I quickly recalled my love of kitchen crafting when I was faced with the $15 price tag at the bath store.

This time I made it with coconut oil, olive oil, sugar and gray sea salt.  It came out great, of course, and I have been enjoying the simple pleasure of it.

I poured as much as I could into a nice short jar I had saved and then found a fat mouthed tea-cup to put the rest in and have kept that at the kitchen sink to use everyday on my Colorado-reptile hands and it has really been working nicely, they almost look human again!

Here are some recipes if you are not the sort to just jump in and throw some stuff in bowl until it looks right:

http://tipnut.com/homemade-sugar-scrub-recipes/

So get into the kitchen , scrounge up some oil, a jar and some salt or sugar and get to mixin, summer is coming and your skin will thank you!

If anyone else has any nice pampering ideas please send them our way….

Love,

Ruby

Entry filed under: Crafts and Projects, Food/Cooking/Recipes, Lifestyle. Tags: .

A picture from the past…..pt. 3 Stress Reduction Resolution

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. millyonair  |  April 12, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Awesome! I’ve been wanting to try making my own facial scrub for a couple months now! Sounds easy–and like a treat for my face!

    Reply
  • 2. Borrowed Abode  |  April 14, 2010 at 6:52 am

    I’ve been using a little homemade jar of sugar, olive oil, and tangerine essential oil because I too was put off by the prices of these things! 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. Ruby  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:14 am

      mmmmmmm tangerine oil, that is what I need in my life. Mine was unscented, which was fine, but I would prefer some luscious scent going on and tangerine sounds great. I had some facial oil last year that was tangerine/pomegranate scented and it was amazing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


