Make your own mayo

April 13, 2010 at 10:31 pm 5 comments

Emerald will know exactly why this post is here.  This afternoon when we were catching up on the phone she got a little impromtu lesson in mayonnaise making.  I couldn’t believe she had never made it before!

So I thought surely if Emerald hasn’t done it then there must be other who also have not made their own mayonnaise, although what a shame!

So here is the recipe I gave her, the one I used today:

In the blender go one whole egg and one egg yolk along with a tsp. of dijon mustard, a tsp of salt and the juice of a lemon.  Whiz this until smooth.

(**Edited to say that I tried making the mayo only with egg yolks (2) and it came out thicker and in my opinion better as well**)

Then turn the blender onto maybe the second setting and leave it running~now this is the hardest part of the whole thing~you drizzle in a steady stream, the thinnest stream you can make, 3/4 to 1 cup of oil.  Olive oil is fine, but don’t use EVOO, use something lighter because the flavor will really impact the final result and you don’t want  it to taste to olive oil-y.  I think Canola would be ideal.

That’s all she wrote, folks. 

No, there are other things you can do with this, but that is seriously the whole recipe if you want to make simple mayo in a second with ingredients you probably have readily on hand.

Now this weekend I was reading that if you want to extend the shelf life of said mayo then you can take this recipe the next step and add some whey.  (You know, the stuff you probably dump right off your yogurt before you serve yourself some for breakfast…)  Well, whey is magical and by adding  it to this recipe (1 tablespoon, to be exact) and then letting the mayo sit out (yes, sit out) for about 7 hours in a clean jar with no lid at room temp. it will somehow make this preserved for about 3-5 months in the fridge!  The whey will also thicken the final product up some, as the original recipe is not that thick.

So the next time you need to replenish your mayo supply think about making your own and try the whey thing, you will have thick, luscious mayo that will keep for as long as the hellman’s you probably have now 🙂

Here is a link to another recipe I have tried:

http://southernfood.about.com/od/saladdressings/r/bl80620a.htm

Now adding garlic would make it Aioli, just so you know and that takes the whole thing to another level totally.

Anyway.

Tell me if you try it!

~Ruby

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , .

Stress Reduction Resolution {this moment}

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  April 14, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Wow, I’d never even thought to make it myself. I’ll bet the flavor is completely different.

    Reply
  • 2. Borrowed Abode  |  April 14, 2010 at 6:50 am

    Ok, I think it’s totally cool that you make your own mayo.
    However, I must say that reading about its ingredients totally grosses me out. 🙂 Had no idea it was eggs and oil.

    Reply
    • 3. Ruby  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:09 am

      Yeah, I used to think mayo was SO gross, but that was before I was really an adventurous eater. I know mayo isn’ exactly adventurous, but something about it really grossed me out….now I love it, LOVE it.
      But I thought mayo ingredients were common knowledge!

      Reply
  • 4. Emerald  |  April 14, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Girl, I was eating that mayo by the SPOONFUL last night. I mean, it was SO GOOD!

    Borrowed Abode- I used to think mayo was gross too. Especially when I learned it was eggs and oil. But I was WRONG. Mayo is GOOD. GOOD GOOD GOOD.

    I put garlic in it too and it was so good I wanted to eat the whole mess of it. Look out, Blue Plate. This is every bit as good.

    Reply
  • 5. Lise  |  April 29, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Ruby,
    Still smiling about your kindness.
    I’ve made mayo, but don’t do it often, because the nasty well-preserved stuff lasts so long. I had no idea about the whey. I’ll never buy it again!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers

Categories