Stress Reduction Resolution

April 13, 2010 at 9:09 am 5 comments

Because I’m temporarily moving to Mexico in three weeks, I have a LOT to do. Each morning I wake up to a list of tasks that need to be completed, and it seems like the list gets longer over the course of each day, in spite of assiduous efforts to cross things off the list. Though I’m excited about the next few months, I’ve also been very stressed out. Ruby says a peculiarity of my personality is that when I have things I HAVE TO DO, even if the goal or the result is something really exciting, I become ultra stressed.

Stress is bad for you. Not only can it have a negative effect on the physical body, it also reduces  quality of life.  Yesterday I decided I don’t want to do that anymore. I should be spending these next few weeks feeling happy and excited, not over-taxed and uptight.  So, even though I can’t change the fact that I have a lot to do (nor would I want to), I can incorporate certain attitudes or activities into my day to reduce stress.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  1. Tea-time (or wine-time). Yesterday evening when my husband got home from work, I was in the middle of making dinner. I was very tired because I’d spent all day DOING STUFF, and WORKING. But instead of immediately parceling off a portion of the to-do list onto him, I poured us both a glass of wine and said, “Why don’t we go sit on the couch for fifteen minutes and drink this wine.” It was a nice little break. We were able to catch up with one another about what had been going on, and it was a reminder that we don’t actually NEED to be moving at light speed every waking moment. It changed my whole mood.
  2. Morning time. I’ve also decided to take a little time for myself in the morning, about thirty minutes, to drink a cup of tea and read a book. I do this before I get dressed or turn on the computer.
  3. Breathe. This is actually one I’ve been working on since I started doing yoga, but it really helps, when I remember to do it.
  4. Listen to music instead of the news. Every now and then I forget why I hate the news, and I turn on the radio news program. I usually wind up feeling anxious and depressed afterward. If I select some relaxing or stimulating music instead, I usually feel energized.

Well, that’s all I’ve come up with so far. You’re all busy people- I’d love to hear some of your ideas for coping with stress in your daily lives. What are some of the things you do for yourself to stay sane and healthy?

Entry filed under: Lifestyle. Tags: , , , , , .

Make your skin happy Make your own mayo

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nduff  |  April 13, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Thank you for sharing!! You’ve listed a lot of great ideas, my favorite being tea/wine time.

    A couple ways I stay sane:
    – journaling
    – just sitting in a quiet room with only my thoughts

    Reply
  • 2. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  April 13, 2010 at 10:41 am

    1. I take 5 minutes and rearrange or tidy something, then pour a glass of wine and admire the results. I have 3 teenagers. It won’t be that way for long.
    2. I make a list of the things I need to get done that are stressing me out. On paper, it’s manageable, and you can check them off as you go, showing that you’re making progress.

    Reply
  • 3. Ruby  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:30 am

    I can’t believe you posted about being stressed as you get ready to go to Mexico(nut!)! I really hope these changes make a difference!

    Reply
  • 4. terriaw  |  April 13, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I think it’s great to have a few of these stress reducers at the ready! I’m a list maker too, and I also like to listen to music instead of the news. Looking at magazines helps my mind wander from those stresses too.

    Reply
  • 5. Bellyhoo  |  April 13, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    When I’m stressed, I take some time to look at the sky. I mean really look at it. The best times are early in the morning and at sunset, of course, and then maybe right after sunset. Those “blue hours” really make a difference for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


