Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake

April 19, 2010 at 9:02 am 4 comments

Okay, I know it’s April and all, and that it’s not exactly pumpkin season. Last fall, I had all these gorgeous pumpkins in the garden, and since there’s a limit to how much pumpkin a person can actually eat in a  season, I roasted some, pureed them and stuffed them into the freezer. Now that I’m moving/leaving the country in nineteen days (OMG!), I’ve been trying to use up my freezer pumpkin stockpile. I made a pumpkin pie last week, and it was delish. I wanted to try something new, and I’d always heard about pumpkin-chocolate things so I gave this recipe a go–I sort of Frankensteined it from several internet recipes. Not exactly in season, but so what? Does your mouth HAVE a season? Mine doesn’t. Not when it comes to dessert, anyway….

Click “more” for recipe, and enjoy! Very easy to make, and oh-so-delicious with coffee. If pumpkin doesn’t set your heart aflutter right now, bookmark it for the fall.

♥Emerald

Emerald’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake

3/4 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. brown sugar, packed

3/4 butter or shortening (I used butter)

2 eggs

2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

2 t. baking soda

2 t. cinnamon

2 t. nutmeg

1/4 t. salt

15 oz. fresh pureed pumpkin or 1 can of pumpkin

1 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1 c. pecans (or other nuts)

  1. In a mixing bowl beat together the sugars, the eggs, the butter (shortening). In a separate bowl mix together the flour, the spices, the soda, and the salt. Stir it up.
  2. Alternately add the pumpkin and the flour to the butter/sugar mix. Stir it up after each addition. Add the chocolate chips and nuts, and stir those in, too.
  3. Turn the batter into a greased and floured tube pan. Bake in a 350° oven for about an hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.
  4. Remove from oven and cool in pan for 10 minutes on a wire rack, then flip the pan and turn the cake out to cool on the rack.
  5. Pour yourself a cup of coffee.
  6. Eat come cake and marvel at life’s little pleasures.
Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

{these moments} for the mom who can’t choose Arkansas chicken salad

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  April 19, 2010 at 9:04 am

    i adore pumpkin chocolate things so much and my mouth does not have a season.

    Reply
  • 2. Emerald  |  April 19, 2010 at 9:10 am

    The pumpkin chocolate phenomenon was a new thing for me, but I figured, GOOD + GOOD = BETTER. The calculation was correct.

    Reply
  • 3. Ruby  |  April 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    yeah, I used to make pumpkin cake without eggs or oil and then
    I would add the chocolate chips and use splenda and call it healthy….
    Now I know that eggs and oil are healthy and flour and splenda not so much, but I still use splenda.

    Reply
  • 4. terriaw  |  April 20, 2010 at 6:31 am

    I am definitely saving this recipe! It looks so delish – another great treat for breakfast. My mouth is watering… making me wish I could try a piece now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


