A Novel Obsession

April 23, 2010 at 7:34 am 2 comments

This is going to be a quick post because I’m sick and should be in bed instead of huddled like a crab on the floor before my desk-less computer. But I’m reading a fantastic book right now (well, not right this second) and I just have to tell you all about it. One thing I have realized about myself lately is that I love to read books about French history, specifically about the French Revolution. I don’t really know why it interests me so much–it sounds like a perfectly horrible thing to have lived through for both the nobility and the proletariat. Still, I’m fascinated.

Several months ago I read Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette by Sena Jeter Naslund, and it was spectacular! Now I’m reading The Many Lives and Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. by Sandra Gulland, and it is also spectacular. I can’t put it down, in fact. It’s about Napoleon’s empress, who was not born royalty but grew up on the island of Martinico on a sugar plantation. There’s lots of Frenchy goodness, and also a great deal of sweltering Caribbean exoticism. I just discovered online that the book is the first one in a trilogy, which is the best news I’ve had in days. Now I don’t feel so bad about gluttonously devouring this one in two days.

Now I’ve got my beach reading list! Of course, if the next two books are as good as the first one, then I’ll have to bring a lot more books because they won’t last me very long. Maybe I’ll finally tackle Les Miserables, which I’ve been meaning to do for years….

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Books, Reading, Writing. Tags: , , , , , .

Stuffed egg and bacon salad A surprise giveaway…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bellyhoo  |  April 23, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Les Mis is totally worth it. I recommend.

    Reply
  • 2. Ruby  |  April 23, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Well if Kelly recommends it then it’s probably good, she is one of my best book recommenders…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Categories


