I Wanna Be A Beach Hippie

April 27, 2010 at 10:12 am 8 comments

Tow years ago when my husband and I went to Costa Rica, I became enamored with a group of “beach hippies” in the west coast town of Manuel Antonio. I don’t know where the hippies came from–they looked vaguely European, but were so tan they could have easily been native Ticos. I don’t member talking o them except to buy some of the jewelry they made, I only remember that they apparently lived in a van by the ocean with a bulldog who wore a beaded necklace. And I thought to myself, I want that life. So, since I’m going to Mexico (ten days!!!) for two and a half months, and since I won’t really have a job while I’m down there, and since I like to make jewelry, I’m going to try my hand at being a beadin’ beach hippie, minus the van and the dog of course. Maybe make a little dinero para cerveza, if you know what I mean.

In preparation, I’ve been making and stockpiling jewelry for the vacation. I’ll have internet while I’m there, so I will post updates about my endeavor. You only live once, right? Might as well reach out and grab it, especially when it’s that close.

My “Workshop”

I’m not sure how I’ll decide on a spot to sell my merchandise — I’ve never really done anything like this. Have any of you? Tips and advice are welcome….

♥Emerald

P.S. Check out Ruby’s super-cute flag pennant giveaway below, and leave a comment- it could be yours!

Entry filed under: Crafts and Projects, Lifestyle.

A surprise giveaway… And the winner is:

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  April 27, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    I have traveled selling stuff and the only tip I can think of that seems prudent is to try and be as undercover as you can while still attracting customers. I wouldn’t put it all out there if you know what I mean. And in Mexico I would be concerned about getting mugged if you looked like you were making money.
    I hope you sell a binch of stuff, Merl!

    Reply
  • 2. terriaw  |  April 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    What a cool image you presented of those people in Costa Rica! i dream about that too. I think your beading beach hippie experiment sounds fun. Good advice from Ruby! I can’t believe you leave in 10 days!

    Reply
  • 3. Emerald  |  April 28, 2010 at 8:36 am

    @ Ruby: Thanks for the advice!

    @ Terri: I know! I can’t believe it either! I’m up to my neck in boxes!

    Reply
  • 4. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  April 28, 2010 at 11:09 am

    How about an Etsy shop? If I can figure out how to place an actual ad on my site, I’ll give you free space to promote it.

    Reply
  • 5. Emerald  |  April 28, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Sunny,

    Ruby and I totally want to do an Etsy shop — maybe after the summer when we’re both settled in. Thanks so much for the offer of free promotion! That’s super-nice of you!

    Reply
  • 6. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  April 29, 2010 at 6:53 am

    You have a SHOP?!?!? Why don’t I know this?!?!?!

    Reply
  • 7. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  April 29, 2010 at 6:55 am

    OMG I read that wrong. More coffee….

    Reply
    • 8. Ruby  |  April 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      LOL, you’re the best!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


