{this moment}

April 29, 2010 at 3:45 pm 6 comments

I’m posting (very, very) late today because I had a migraine this morning and a funeral to attend. The funeral was for my husband’s grandmother, D., who loved me like one of her granddaughters. I will miss her very much. I took these pictures a few days ago on a walk, while thinking about D. I have been overwhelmed with tasks in preparation for our move, but the day before was the last time I was able to spend time with D. and have a conversation with her. One thing she said to me was “Enjoy your life while you have it. ” And so I took her words to heart and took a break from the packing and minutiae, and went outside to enjoy the wildflowers. After all, the wildflowers will be gone soon, too.

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Pictures (Worth 1,000 Words). Tags: , , , , .

And the winner is: So we’re off….

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruby  |  April 29, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Geez, Merl, that was so SAD.

    Reply
  • 2. terriaw  |  April 29, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    What a wonderful and peaceful way to reflect on your loved one. My heart goes out to you and family as you remember D.

    Reply
  • 3. Chelsea  |  April 30, 2010 at 8:10 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful last memory she gave you before she left.

    Reply
  • 4. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  April 30, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Old age is a privilege afforded to few, and the wisdom of those who achieve it should never be ignored. The photos are a lovely homage. It shows how much you tresured her, and how well you listened.

    Reply
  • 5. Emerald  |  April 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    Thanks everyone for your kind comments.

    Reply
  • 6. Borrowed Abode  |  May 13, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Oh,just catching up now – I’m so sorry for your loss. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


