Comida (That Means “Food”)

May 11, 2010 at 1:02 pm Leave a comment

Hello everyone! So sorry I didn’t post anything yesterday–I got a sunburn (surprise, surprise) and so I didn’t feel very good. I spent most of the day napping and drinking water. Once the sun had gone down somewhat, I went to the grocery store, which was like a little mini-adventure, since I had to take a colectivio— a small van-bus that shuttles people around. It’s the way the locals travel, and pretty cheap, about a dollar per ride. If there’s one thing I love, it’s going to the grocery store in another country. I could walked around inside the Soriana (that’s the name of the supermarket) for hours, just looking at all the different stuff. I probably will next time, when I’m not sun-sick.

We got some apple empanadas in the bakery that were to die for. And the cuts of meat were very different than what I’m used to in the States. Last night I bought a cut of beef called Milanesa Pulpa Negra, which are very thin slices of meat, but I don’t know which part of the cow they’re from. I layered it in a pie pan with sliced garlic, black pepper, and Italian seasoning between the slices. Then I poured some old wine into the dish, left behind by the people who normally live in this apartment. I don’t know how it’ll turn out- I’m kinda winging it, but it’s fun to be cooking again after having all my kitchen in chaos and half-boxed up for the last few weeks.  Ruby told me my mission while I’m in Mexico is to learn to make perfect tacos. I have eaten some good ones, but I think I need to  eat a few more before I attempt my own recipe. Taco school.

Here’s tonight’s supper, in it’s marinade. I’ll let y’all know how it turns out tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Mexico is for the birds Tacos Camarones

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who Writes This Blog? We Do!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Categories


