Emerald’s Easy Empanadas

May 28, 2010 at 3:09 pm 3 comments

I fell in love with empanadas two years ago in Costa Rica, where I first discovered the fried dough pockets stuffed with cheesy, meaty goodness. But all of the empanadas I’ve come across in Mexico have been fruit-filled pastries more suitable for breakfast or dessert than dinner. Not that there’s anything wrong with a pineapple-cream-filled empanada, but lately I’ve had a hankering for something more savory. Chalk it up to my monthly carbs-n-cheese craving, but I wanted–no, NEEDED it to happen.

When I thought about it, I realized I could probably just use the tortilla recipe and stuff the uncooked tortillas and then fry them instead of baking them on a skillet. Which was correct. For stuffings I used carmelized onion, a little bit of jalapeño sausage, and oaxaca cheese (which is a white Mexican cheese similar to string cheese, sold in a coil, and very creamy when melted). After filling one side of the tortilla, I wetted the edges with a little bit of water, pressed it shut with the tines of a fork, and plopped it into some hot oil and cooked it on both sides until it was golden. Voila! It couldn’t be easier! And the options for stuffing are ENDLESS. I thought pumpkin cream cheese empanadas would also be good, as would mushroom and roasted peppers, or blue cheese and fig preserves or honey. A fried dough pocket, is, in my opinion, a blank canvas upon which any creation is destined to delight. I mean, it’s pretty hard to screw up fried dough….

♥Emerald

Entry filed under: Food/Cooking/Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

She’s baaaaaaaaaaaack! Hot Chocolate cherry cupcakes

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane @ The Borrowed Abode  |  June 2, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Cool! I am totally addicted to empanadas and saltenas. Fortunately I can get them easily in Northern VA since we have such diversity! But sometime I do want to try making them. This will help!

    Reply
  • 2. Emerald  |  June 3, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Jane, they were really easy! A little messy, but totally worth it.

    Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  June 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    I found you through Jane’s blog… those empanadas look to die for. I love empanadas. Your Mexican food recipes seem delicious, and healthier than the typical Mexican fare I get in my neck of the woods!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers

Categories