My New Obsession: Sea Glass

May 19, 2010 at 8:00 am 5 comments

Ever since we got here, I’ve been looking for sea glass, and yesterday I ACTUALLY FOUND SOME! I learned about sea glass about a year ago when Ruby sent me a link to website where a girl was selling some really awesome sea glass jewelry. If you’ve never heard of it, sea glass is exactly what it sounds like- glass from the sea. More specifically, it is little shards of broken glass that have been worn smooth and frosted by tidal action and saltwater. And, it is the COOLEST. STUFF. EVER.

Sea glass is this whole thing that people are completely obsessed with collecting (and I can see myself becoming one of those people). Some people also get really into researching what KIND of sea glass they’ve found–in other words, what it was before it was sea glass, how old it is, etc. Apparently some sea glass dates all the way back to the 1800s.

Anyway, I’m PSYCHED to have found some on a deserted rocky beach that seemingly no one ever visits. It was kind of tricky hiking around the rocks in my flip-flops, but totally worth it.

For more about sea glass, click here.

Entry filed under: Lifestyle. Tags: , , , , .

Pics of the Day MY BIRTHDAY GIVEAWAY!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terri  |  May 19, 2010 at 9:20 am

    One more thing we have in common – obsession for sea glass!! I became obsessed with sea glass last year when I made a mini quilt with colors that reminded me of sea glass. I’m SO psyched for you that you found these treasures! (and envious too!) Happy to see your are having a wonderful time.

    Reply
  • 2. Emerald  |  May 19, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Thanks Terri! Sea glass is addictive! I already want to go back and look for some more!

    Reply
  • 3. Linda J  |  May 19, 2010 at 11:27 am

    You may enjoy becoming a member of Seaglasslovers, the largest online community on the net dedicated to Sea Glass Collectors of the world.

    Over 4000 members sharing 20,000 sea glass and beach photos, Craft and Display ideas, Shard Id, Sea Glass Anatomy, Sea Glass Color Wheel, beach locations and so SO much more!

    Membership is free to all and we are a Non Jewelry and Non Agenda site.

    Reply
  • 4. Sunny's Life in Rehab  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Hi, since you’re a blog I never miss, I wanted to stop by and tell you that I have a surprise for you tomorrow morning on my blog, so please do pop by!

    Reply
  • 5. Mermaid's Purse  |  May 19, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Congratulations!! Once your hooked..that’s it. Sea Glass is totally a treasure. I don’t see the down side in this hobby at all. Filled with allure, science, history and beauty….yep….it’s pretty great.
    Happy Hunting. šŸ™‚

    Fair Winds and Calm Seas,
    Deborah Leon
    http://www.mermaidspurseseaglass.com

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers

Categories